KFnet in T-Town

Mar. 15, 2012 at 4:33pm

Sounder Construction Pacific Ave. Preview

Took a preview tour of Pacific Ave. where the new Sounder train crossing has been in the works for months. Starting Monday Pacific will re-open to traffic (but not South Tacoma Way -- yet) while nearby "A" Street will soon close to vehicles for good (it'll eventually re-open for bikes and pedestrians) so the dreaded berm can be built.

I have photos to share later but here's a video walk through of the site.

Council member David Boe was on-hand along with various Sound Transit folks and Dome District members. After cycling over Boe was still miffed with the above grade crossing and lack of ability to build on adjacent spaces and I tend to agree with him. Still, the finish work on the area and generous sidewalks is nice to see.

It was also interesting to hear about all the artifacts found and cataloged during the massive dig including and old train trestle, glassware, cars, bricks, and I'm sure more. Hope to see some of that in an exhibit somewhere at some point.

Link to previous Sounder construction updates

comments [21]  |  posted under construction, preview, rail, sounder, tacoma, transit

Comments

by fredo on 3/15/2012 @ 4:42pm
clearance under the trestle looks pretty low.

by KevinFreitas on 3/15/2012 @ 4:49pm
Seemed generous walking under it but I also don't drive a big rig.

by NineInchNachos on 3/15/2012 @ 4:53pm
insta-pit !

by Crenshaw Sepulveda on 3/15/2012 @ 5:09pm
Nothing says welcome to downtown Tacoma quite like a fugly train bridge. On a positive note there looks to be ample room under that bridge to shelter a few hobos.

by Crenshaw Sepulveda on 3/15/2012 @ 5:10pm
Do you really think such an abomination would be built in Seattle these days?

by Jesse on 3/15/2012 @ 6:56pm
I like it! I actually like the trestle as a gateway to DT Tacoma. If they can keep the tagging off of all this stuff, it should look nice when done!

I'd rather see something besides grass planted on the hillsides. It's high maintenance, requires a ton of water, and never really looks good. I'd do something else like landscaping along Hwy 16 or some shrubs that choke off al other weeds, etc.

At 1:25, that'd be a perfect lot for food carts... complete with parking across the street.

by Non Sequitur on 3/15/2012 @ 11:09pm
Hideous. It's not even a nice looking bridge.

$50 says it'll be tagged to hell before it's even a month old.

by tacoma1 on 3/16/2012 @ 9:09am
It's not finished, of course it looks hideous. It's not painted, the landscaping and artwork isn't in yet. The rush to judge the aesthetics of an unfinished construction project is premature and silly.

It's a half baked cake, with flour and batter all over the counter, and the kitchen sink still full of dirty pots and pans.

by cisserosmiley on 3/16/2012 @ 9:27am
I love eating unbaked cake batter, if it's good raw it's good baked!!!

by Crenshaw Sepulveda on 3/16/2012 @ 10:00am
I predict a food truck selling unbaked cake batter on this location in the near future. Ok, maybe tacos as well, but for sure unbaked cake batter.

by Mpbrogan on 3/18/2012 @ 1:26am
I fully endorse the idea of food trucks there, but only if there is a bombass taco truck and a bah mi truck.

by fredo on 3/18/2012 @ 7:59am
I predict the trestle will be covered with extra graffiti, the berm will be covered with extra scotch broom and there will be lots of extra taco trucks and people holding extra corrogated cardboard signs

It's all part of Mayor Stricklands plan to get everyone to do something "extra."

by The Jinxmedic on 3/19/2012 @ 7:41am
I was hoping for a bit more architectural style to the bridge- that's pretty ugly, actually.

by KevinFreitas on 3/19/2012 @ 8:49am
@jinx: My hope is there's more to come with the required 1% for the arts money. I imagine any artistic elements to be added to the project will come next to last. If they don't, I highly suggest we put at least a nice "You'll Like Tacoma" mural on it before it gets tagged. Though I presume even before workers leave the site for the last time graffiti will appear.

by fredo on 3/19/2012 @ 9:32am
Maybe the Tacoma ARts commission could schedule a Pacific Ave. reopening poetry reading. For the meager sum of $2500 I would be willing to stand in front of the trestle and read some of my favorite blog posts to anyone who wanted to listen.

by tacoma1 on 3/19/2012 @ 9:57am
That'd be a small crowd

btw, Tacoma tommorrow has a positing with the rendering of what it will/should/might/may/could look like when its all done.

The bridge color looks wrong in the rendering, should be dark blue according to the trib. And all of these projects get 1% towards public art. I haven't a clue as to what that'll be, or where it will go.

www.tacomatomorrow.com/2012/03/tacomas-p...

by fredo on 3/19/2012 @ 10:18am
"That'd be a small crowd" tacoma1

I suspect you're right tacoma1.

But the Tacoma Arts Commission has handed out dozens or hundreds of $2500 grants to local "artists" who produce art or poetry that nobody on earth is or ever will be interested in.

Why would my unpopular blog posts be any less deserving?

by Crenshaw Sepulveda on 3/19/2012 @ 10:35am
Perhaps we need to add .1 or .2 cents to the sales tax so that we could properly spruce up the bridge and perhaps provide some sort of stipend for fredo, that would get the poetry flowing from fredo, or at least something flowing.

by NineInchNachos on 3/19/2012 @ 10:49am
looks better than a pile of dirt.

#WINNING, duh

by glynnjamin on 3/20/2012 @ 7:42am
Anyone on here know anything about the rail ROW? Are we, the taxpayers, paying for a whole new line between the Dome and Lakewood ... or are we renting ROW part of the way like we do with the rest of the Sounder route?

I only ask because I'd really like to see some sort of smaller rail shuttle running between the Dome, S.Tacoma, & Lakewood during the day (between Sounder AM/PM rush runs) as well as the evenings - plus some damn weekend service. I think this would go a long way to helping Lakewood and South Tacoma. If we own the rail ROW, why not use it as much as possible (assuming demand)?

by Non Sequitur on 3/20/2012 @ 10:07pm
Double ugly.

Although I;m strangely interested in the idea of converting Fredo's bloggings into some kind of free-form verse. Or haiku.

THAT could be just as much of a train wreck as the bridge is.

About

Although I have another home on the web I thought it might be nice to lead by example a bit and put this blog system up to the test myself.

So far, so good... Funny how I build web tools for other people that are far better than the one's I have setup over on KFnet.

------------------------------------------------------------

Hey Clear Channel, Clean Up Your Crap!

Advantage: Tacoma

Quick Bites

Recent Posts